User:Simon Peter Hughes

From Wikibooks, open books for an open world
Jump to navigation Jump to search
en-N This user can read and write at a native level in English.
fr-4 Cette personne peut contribuer avec un niveau quasi-natif de français.
es-4 Este usuario puede contribuir con un nivel casi nativo de español.
eo-3 Ĉi tiu uzanto kapablas komuniki per alta aŭ flua nivelo de Esperanto.
ca-3 Aquest usuari pot contribuir amb un nivell avançat de català.
Flag of Ukraine.svg Long live Ukraine!
Flag of United Kingdom.svg This user is from the Uniyed Kingdom.
Flag of the Republic of China.svg This user lives in Taiwan.
Windup alarm clock.jpg This user's time zone is UTC+8.
長庚大學校門.jpg Tbis user works at Chang Gung University.
HeteroSym lime pink.svg This user is a heterosexual man who has no problem wearing pink.
ChessSet.jpg This user is a chess player.
Newspaper Cover.svg This user enjoys reading the newspaper.
Pizza.png This user eats pizza.
C This user can't decide if Coke or Pepsi is better and drinks both. P
Wikibooks Reviewer.svg This user is a reviewer on the English Wikibooks. (verify)
Wikipedia Rollbacker.svg This user is a rollbacker on Wikipedia. (verify)
Wikisource-logo.svg This user has a page on Wikisource.
Wikiquote-logo.svg This user has a page on Wikiquote.
Wiktionary-logo-v2.svg This user has a page on Wiktionary.
Wikinews-logo.svg This user has a page on Wikinews.
Wikivoyage-logo.svg This user has a page on Wikivoyage.
Commons-logo.svg This user has a page on
Wikimedia Commons.
Wikispecies-logo.svg This user has a page on Wikispecies.
Wikidata-logo.svg This user has a page on Wikidata.
Wikimedia logo family complete-2013.svg This user has created a global account. Simon Peter Hughes's main account is on Wikipedia (English).

My name is Simon Peter Hughes I was born in Stratford-upon-Avon, England in 1973. I studied French and Spanish at the University of Bradford from 1991 to 1995 and received an MA in English language teaching from the University of Warwick in 1997.

I have been teaching English as a foreign language since 1997. I have lived and worked in Turkey, Poland and Japan. I have been living and working in Taiwan since April 2003. I have been a research assistant at Chang Gung University since June 2022.

I discovered Wikipedia in 2006 and finally got up the courage to become a registered editor a few months later. I have edited the French and Simple English Wikipedias, I have made substantial contributions to the Spanish Wikipedia and I have won a prize for helping to improve the Esperanto Wikipedia.

I used to edit Uncyclopedia under the username Spews1973 but I lost interest in that site because I found most of it disgusting, offensive and just not funny. I have edited Wikitravel, Fandom, SikhiWiki, the Spaghetti Western Database and WikInfo under the same username that I use here.

I registered with this site when I found out that an article I had once edited on Wikipedia had been moved here. I think this is a great site and I'd like to contribute more.

Statue of Hamlet in Stratford-upon-Avon