Jump to navigation Jump to search
Cookbook | Recipes | Ingredients | Cereal Grain
Spelt (Triticum spelta) was an important wheat species in Europe from the Bronze Age to Roman times. It now survives as a relict crop in Central Europe, but has found a new market as a health food.
There are often claims made that spelt is suitable for people on a gluten-free diet, but this is incorrect. It may, however, be suitable for some people with an allergy to wheat, although this is very dependent on the individual.