From Wikibooks, open books for an open world
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Cookbook | Recipes | Ingredients

Pectin is a substance commonly used to thicken foods, mainly liquids. It can be made from apples.

Jams, jellies, and preserves will not set unless they have enough pectin in them, so it is often added as an extra ingredient in the form of products such as 'jamsetta'. It is often used as a replacement for gelatin in vegetarian cuisine, alongside carrageenan.