User:Sduna101

From Wikibooks, open books for an open world
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Sarah Dunaway[edit]

Sarah, Scooter and Chris Dunaway
Grey Herron on the Rappahannock River


Information About Me:

I have lived in the Middle Peninsula of Virginia for the past five years with my husband, Chris, and my dog, Scooter. I have found Virginia a good place to call home through my experiences with friends and family. I love the rural setting and the nearby beaches. I was born and raised in Washington State and enjoy going home for frequent visits to see my parents, siblings and nephews.


Educational Background:

I graduated from Washington State University in 1996 with a Bachelor's Degree in Human Development with my focus in Child Development. I have worked with infants and toddlers since I graduated in 1996. I currently work with babies birth to three with developmental delays providing early intervention to children and their families. The work I do is rewarding and fulfilling and I enjoy going to work everyday.

Philosophy of Education:

I like to use a team approach when working with children and their families. By coordinating with physcians, therapists, caregivers and other educators, I feel as a team we can work together towards the most optimal plan to assist each child with their development. I believe in the importance of looking at all areas of a child's development when coming up with an educational plan for a child. I think it is important to have the parents and caregivers involved with the entire process of the development and facilitation of their child's educational plan. By having parent involvement in their child's educational plan, parents can gain necessary tools to be good advocates for their children, now and in the future. My ideal future classroom is sitting on the floor at a family's home with the caregiver, the child and myself working together in play to find the most ideal strategy to enhance that child's development.

I believe all children should be given the opportunity to have equal access to resources and education services within the schools and within the community. I think children learn through their natural environment and the interactions they have in play with other children and caregivers. I think it is important for children with special needs to be integrated with children without disabilities. I believe exposure for any child to diversity amongst peers of varying developmental levels enhances learning. I think an optimal classroom environment for children would have a scheduled routine to follow throughout the day with goals specific to the needs of each individual child.

What I Like To Do:

In my free time I enjoy spending time with my husband, family, friends and my dog. We enjoy going to cookouts with friends, swimming in the Rappahannock River, watching Nascar races and playing around the house with Scooter. I also enjoy lazy days at the river taking in the peaceful serenity of the Rappahannock River.