Pixlr Editor/Menus/File

From Wikibooks, open books for an open world
Jump to: navigation, search

Basic file management menu.

New image... Ctrl + X[edit]

This command will create a new image based on the options selcted in the dialog page it will open up.

New image dialog[edit]

  • Name - Input the name of your new image, default value is "Untitled"
  • Presets - Scrolldown menu offering different combination of size for the new image, in width by height. Default value, 800 X 600
  • Width et Height - Text fields with value slider to select custom width and height for the image. Default value set by Presets selection.
  • Transparent - Checkbox to make the initial image transparent. Default value is unchecked, which will make the initial image white.
  • Cancel or OK - Buttons to cancel or accept the creation of a new image.

Open image... Ctrl + O[edit]

This command will open an image from the computer or from its local area network.

This command will use the open file dialog from the computer's operating system.

Open image URL...[edit]

This command will open an image from the Web. The image will open as "Untitled" since it can not be saved back directly to its origin. It will thus have to be saved locally to the computer or in one of the Pixlr Editor recognized images library.

Open image URL dialog[edit]

  • URL - Text field to input the URL of the image to open. The URL should to point to an image, with normal imahge extensions (*.jpg, *.png, etc) and not the HTML page on which it might appear.
  • Cancel et OK - Buttons to cancel or open the image. If the URL does not direct at an image file that Pixlr Editor can handle, the dialog will close and no further without further action.

Open image library...[edit]

This command will open an image from an image library recognized by Pixlr editor.

Image library dialog[edit]

  • Library tab - At the top of this dialog is a series of tabs pointing to different image libraries from which you can access images if you are a member of these sites. The tabs point to :
    • Pixlr Library
    • Facebook
    • Flickr
    • Picasa
  • Folder list - In the left section of the dialog appear the folders on the library the active tab is pointing to. It is possible to rename folders, create new ones or delete them. These actions are available through a contextual menu that opens when right-clicking the folder list area or by using the buttons that are in the button bar that borders the bottom part of the list.
  • Image list - In the right section of the dialog is a list of the images that are in the folder selected in the folder list, represented by a named thumbnail. The images can be renamed or deleted, opened directly, which closes the dialog window, or opened in the background in order to open more than one image at the time.
  • Image information - Under the Image list is an information section. When an image is selected, its name,its type, its size in pixels and its size in KB in shown in this section. There are also two buttons in the section, the first to rename the selected image, the second one to delete it.
  • Cancel et Open - Buttons to cancel or open the image. The Open button only becomes visible when an image is selected.

Save... Ctrl + S[edit]

This command will save the active image.

Save image dialog[edit]

  • Library tabs - At the left section of this dialog is a series of tabs. The first of these tabs points to the local computer, the other tabs point to different image libraries accessible by Pixlr Editor, if you are a member of these sites. The tabs are:
    • My computer
      • If this tab is selected, clicking the OK button will make the operating system's Save file dialog open to enable the selection of the prefered location for this file on the computer.
    • imm.io
    • Pixlr Library
    • Facebook
    • Flickr
    • Picasa
  • Thumbnail - The central section of the dialog will present a thumbnail of the active image about to be saved.
  • Save options - In the right section of the dialog, different options are presented with the size in KB of the active image (located just above the OK button).
    • Name: - Text field to set the name of the image file.
    • Format: - A scrolldown list to select the image format in which to save the image.
      • Quality - If the selected format is JPEG, a slider will appear to enable to select the quality/compression ratio that is preferred for the saved image.
  • Cancel et OK - Buttons to cancel or save the image.

Print...[edit]

This command permits to print the active image.

This command will use the print dialog from the computer's operating system.

Close Ctrl + W[edit]

This command closes the active image. If changes have been made to the image, a warning dialog appears.

Login...[edit]

This menu item is visible only if the user is not already connected to is Pixlr account. It enables the user to log in.

Login dialog[edit]

  • E-mail: - Text field to insert the user's e-mail address.
  • Password: - Text field to insert the user's password.
  • Remember me - Checkbox to be be automatically connected at our next visits.
  • Sign up to pixlr - Link to the Sign up dialog, also accessible by the Sign up menu (see below).
  • Lost password - Link to the Lost password dialog.
    • Lost password dialog
      • Text field to insert the e-mail at which to receive a new password for the Pixlr account.
  • Cancel et OK - Buttons to cancel or login into the account.

Sign up...[edit]

This menu item is visible only if the user is not already connected to is Pixlr account. It enables the user to create a Pixlr account.

Sign up dialog[edit]

  • Name: - Text field to the user name.
  • E-mail: - Text field to insert the user's e-mail address.
  • Password: - Text field to insert the user's chosen password.
  • Repeat password: - Text field to confirm the user's chosen password.
  • Cancel et OK - Buttons to cancel or create the account.

Logout[edit]

This menu item is visible only if the user is connected to is Pixlr account. It enables the user to disconnect from is Pixlr account.

Exit Ctrl + Q[edit]

This command close the Pixlr editor and takes the user back to the Pixlr's main page.