||A Wikibookian suggests that this book or chapter be merged with Cookbook:Rice flour because:
Please discuss whether or not this merger should happen on the discussion page.
Rice flour is gluten-free because it is milled from a gluten-free grain. It is often used as a substitute for wheat flour in baking, but due to the lack of gluten, it requires other ingredients for binding such as tapioca starch, guar gum or xanthan gum. However, some rice flour may not be gluten-free, due to cross-contamination at the flour mill – check with your supplier if this is important.
Some types of rice flour:
- White rice flour – highly refined, generally best as a thickener or in combination with other flours
- Brown rice flour – milled from the whole grain, so more flavour and nutrition than white rice flour; often not milled fine enough for baking, so select carefully
- Glutinous rice flour (also sweet rice flour) – made from white glutinous rice, better for baking than white rice flour
- Roasted red rice flour – used for making roti, dosai or hoppers, especially in Sri Lankan cuisine